OTTAWA — The Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) presented its annual Canadian Tourism Awards at the Hilton Lac-Leamy in Gatineau, Que., last night, recognizing success, leadership and innovation in Canada’s tourism industry.

“These outstanding organizations demonstrated ingenuity, perseverance and determination on the path to success and are a testament to Canada’s world-class tourism industry,” said David Goldstein, TIAC president and CEO. Goldstein applauds the honourees for driving the economy and creating jobs in Canada. “The industry congratulates them on their success — on this outstanding achievement,” he said.

In all, 12 organizations and individuals were honoured. The following were among the winners: Travel Alberta-Wintersport in Alberta won Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Marketing Campaign of the Year award; Jenny Wilkins, Sheraton Hamilton Hotel, Hamilton, Ont., was honoured as the InterContinental Hotels Group Employee of the Year; Au Diable Vert, Glen Sutton, Que., was named Hilton Worldwide’s Business of the Year (small- or medium-sized). The Deloitte Innovator of the Year award was presented to Nordik Spa-Nature, in Chelsea, Que.

Meanwhile, tonight, TIAC will induct three iconic tourism-industry leaders into the Canadian Tourism Hall of Fame; a fourth will receive a Lifetime Achievement award. The honourees are Rick Antonson, president, CEO, Tourism Vancouver; Klaus W. Roth, tourism marketing strategist, Northwest Territories, Yukon, and Alberta (posthumous); and Gilbert Rozon, founder, Just For Laughs. Chris Cahill, executive VP, Global Operations, Las Vegas Sands Corp., will be presented with the Lifetime Achievement award. The honourees will be recognized during the tourism congress attended by Maxime Bernier, minister of state.

Keep Reading

Hotel Le Crystal Steps Up Hygiene Standard


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.