2017 Spirit Awards winners

TORONTO — More than 570 members of the Greater Toronto Hotel Association (GTHA) gathered on Friday, May 12, 2017 to honour exceptional ambassadors in the region’s hotel industry. The sixth-annual Spirit Awards Luncheon, presented by the Greater Toronto Hotel Association, recognized 242 nominees and 18 award winners for their outstanding contributions in the industry.

“It is with great pride that the GTHA celebrates the service, professionalism and innovation of these outstanding ambassadors in the hotel community,” says GTHA president & CEO Terry Mundell. “Their contributions to the visitor experience leave a lasting impression on the over 14 million overnight visitors to the Greater Toronto Area. Our congratulations go out to each nominee and award winner for their exceptional service to guests visiting GTHA member hotels.”

The winners of the Greater Toronto Hotel Association’s 6th Annual Spirit Awards are:
•    Lifetime Achievement Award: Fatima Xavier, The Westin Harbour Castle
•    Accounting Ambassador of the Year:  Jean Simon, Chelsea Hotel Toronto
•    Valet/ Door Person/ Shuttle Driver Ambassador of the Year: Fetsum Tesfay Fairmont Royal York
•    Switchboard Operator of the Year: Raul Turcios, Hilton Toronto
•    Bell Person Ambassador of the Year:  James Van Sickle, Park Hyatt Toronto
•    Concierge of the Year:  Shawn Robinson, Omni King Edward Hotel
•    Culinary Ambassador of the Year:  Candice Ekonomakos, The Ritz-Carlton Toronto
•    Engineering Ambassador of the Year:  Naser Brahan, Novotel North York
•    Food-and-Beverage Outlets Ambassador of the Year: Vesna Lazic, Holiday Inn Toronto Yorkdale
•    Guest Services Ambassador of the Year:  Mehtab Rehman, Novotel North York
•    Housekeeping Room Attendant Ambassador of the Year: Uzel Ramos, Hilton Toronto
•    Housekeeping Support Services Ambassador of the Year:  Garfield Wade, InterContinental Toronto Centre
•    Administration Ambassador of the Year:  Agustin Arellano, The Westin Harbour Castle
•    Banquet Ambassador of the Year:  George Angulo, The Westin Harbour Castle
•    Laundry Ambassador of the Year: Pina Lamanna, Fairmont Royal York
•    Reservations Ambassador of the Year:  Tammy Chung, Toronto Metro Market representing Westin Harbour Castle, Sheraton Centre, Sheraton Gateway and Sheraton Toronto Airport
•    Security Ambassador of the Year:  Serhiy Tsyundyk, The Strathcona Hotel
•    Steward of the Year: Roy Gardner, Hilton Toronto Airport Suites


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.