TIAC awards

OTTAWA — The Tourism Industry Association of Canada (TIAC) has revealed the finalists of its annual Canadian Tourism Awards.

Now in its 22nd year, the Canadian Tourism Awards feature nine categories of distinction, in addition to the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award. It was open to all businesses operating in any of the full suite of sectors that comprise the tourism industry, accommodations, transportation, recreation, travel services and food and beverage.

The full list of categories and finalists include:

Floor13 Business Event Award:

  • Amii Al Week – Edmonton
  • Yarmouth and Acadian Shores Tourism Association (YASTA) TMAC 2022 Conference and AGM – Yarmouth, N.S.
  • Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada 2022 Convention – Toronto

Air Canada Business of the Year Award:

  • The Calgary Stampede – Calgary
  • Great Wolf Lodge – Niagara Falls, Ont.
  • Harbour Air Group – Vancouver

ITAC Indigenous Tourism Award:

  • Heritage Path Tour – Elsipogtog First Nation, N.B.
  • Corporation Nibiischii – Mistissini, Que.
  • Wanuskewin Heritage Park – Saskatoon, Sask.

VIA Rail Canada Innovator of the Year Award:

  • The Institute for Canadian Citizenship – Toronto
  • AREA 506 Waterfront Container Village – Saint John, N.B.
  • Malahat SkyWalk – Malahat, B.C.

Small or Medium-Sized Business of the Year Award:

  • ERCTU Travel Group – Penticton, B.C.
  • Euston Park – Moncton, N.B.
  • Be Rad Adventure Co. – Saint John, N.B.

Air Transat Sustainable Tourism Award:

  • FOUR Nature Resort – Chelmsford, N.B.
  • Au Diable Vert – Sutton, Que.
  • Eagle Wing Tours – Victoria

Tourism HR Canada Employee of the Year Award:

  • Kaleigh Potts, Adventure Canada – Mississauga, Ont.
  • Spurgeon Robbins, Summerside Visitor Information Centre – Summerside, P.E.I.
  • Susan Tomihiro, Fresh Tracks Canada – Vancouver

Tourism HR Employer of the Year Award:

  • Kingsbrae Garden – Saint Andrews, N.B.
  • Great Wolf Lodge – Niagara Falls, Ont.
  • Tourism Kingston – Kingston, Ont.

TMAC Travel Media Award:

  • Matthew and Karla Bailey, Must Do Canada – Okotoks, Alta.
  • Leah Adams-Chute, Dune Creative – Sechelt, B.C.
  • Heather Greenwood Davis, freelance journalist – Markham, Ont.

“We are thrilled to be announcing the finalists of these awards, which mean more to us this year than ever as the industry first hit and hardest hit by the pandemic,” says Beth Potter, president and CEO of TIAC. “Each of these finalists have proven to have gone above and beyond in offering travellers superior experiences in Canada, and have done so under incredibly trying circumstances; amid a global recession, rampant inflation, supply-chain issues and so on. These esteemed finalists embody the true spirit of our awards – the values of courage, hard work and dedication.”

The final winners will be announced at a gala ceremony on Nov. 23 during TIAC’s annual Tourism Congress, which will be held at the Westin Ottawa. Additionally, the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced separately in advance of the Tourism Congress and gala reception.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.