OTTAWA — Governor General David Johnston named 113 new appointments to the Order of Canada last week, including hoteliers Kathleen Taylor and Zita Cobb.

One of the country’s highest civilian honours, Order of Canada appointments are issued twice a year and recognize a lifetime of outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the country.

Cobb, of Joe Batt’s Arm, Nfld., has been the driving force behind the award-winning Fogo Island Inn, as well as the Shorefast Foundation, an organization dedicated to community revitalization. Her Order of Canada recognizes her as someone who “has helped revive the unique rural communities of Fogo Island and Change Islands through innovative social engagement and geotourism.”

Taylor is the former president and CEO of Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts and the current chair of the board of RBC. The Toronto native was named to the Order of Canada for her contributions to the hotel and financial-services sectors, as well as for her community engagement — most recently as chair of the SickKids Foundation.

The full list of the latest additions and promotions in the Order of Canada can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.