TORONTO — Unite Here Local 75 has sworn in a new diverse leadership committee, marking the local’s transition out of a 14-month trusteeship and conclusion of an unsuccessful raiding campaign by another union.

The union represents nearly 8,000 hospitality workers across the GTA, including workers at 43 hotels.

“Throughout the trusteeship, our members successfully defeated an attempt to raid our local, sending a strong message to both the labour movement and employers as we continued to secure some of the strongest collective agreements our sector has seen in the last two decades,” says Nuredin Bulle, president of Unite Here Local 75. “We have emerged from trusteeship stronger and more united than ever and look forward to continuing our work and expanding our organizing efforts under our new local leadership.”

The UNITE HERE Local 75 executive board now includes:

  • Nuredin Bulle, president
  • Valrie Lue, vice-president
  • Shelli Sareen, secretary treasurer
  • Abu Azam, Hilton Toronto Downtown, trustee
  • Yosief Ogbasellasie, Sheraton Centre Toronto, trustee
  • Rahman Alheisari, Doubletree By Hilton Downtown, trustee
  • Yohannes Habte, Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown, executive board
  • Vemelyn Feliciano, St. Regis Hotel, executive board
  • Nigel Blair, Aramark York University, executive board
  • Mark Krekora, Strathcona Hotel, executive board
  • Medhin Ghebre, Chelsea Hotel, executive board
  • Maria Richards, Delta Toronto East, executive board
  • Marietta Alejandro, Holiday Inn International Airport, executive board
  • Lloyd Manning, Radisson Suite Toronto, executive board
  • Mahbubul Haque, Fairmont Royal York Hotel, executive board
  • Leonora Mulholland, Fairmont Royal York Hotel, executive board
  • Kiran Panikar, Hilton Toronto Downtown, executive board
  • Kayann Drummond, Sheraton Centre Toronto, executive board
  • Ingrid Moncriffe, Delta Toronto East, executive board
  • Ianka Stoyanova, Kimpton Saint George, executive board
  • Habtom Ogbamichael, Sheraton Centre Toronto, executive board
  • Gilbert Galvez, King Edward Hotel, executive board
  • Eulalia Marcos, Chelsea Hotel, executive board
  • Daisy Virgo, Hilton Toronto Downtown, executive board
  • Christine Smalling, Hilton Toronto Airport Hotel & Suites, executive board
  • Josh Cuasay, One King West, executive board
  • Abdullah Idris, Chelsea Hotel, executive board
  • Feliz Serrano, Chelsea Hotel, executive board
  • Froilan De Guzman, Sandman Signature Toronto Airport Hotel, executive board
  • Anna Dudek, Sheraton Toronto Airport Hotel & Conference Centre, executive board
  • Brigida Ruiz, Sheraton Centre Toronto, executive board

“We are a local of immigrants, women and people of colour and our new leadership, leaders who were elected by our membership, represents that. I’m proud to be part of a diverse team that truly reflects our membership and moving forward with a laser-sharp focus on continuing to fight for the best contracts for Toronto hospitality workers,” says Shelli Sareen, Secretary-Treasurer of Unite Here Local 75.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.