Ishwar Naran, 2021 board chair for Best Western Hotels & Resorts

PHOENIX — Best Western Hotels & Resorts’ (BWHR) board of directors has elected Ishwar Naran as board chairman for 2021.

Naran, who previously served as vice-chairman of the board, brings more than three decades of hospitality experience and 17 years of Best Western ownership to his new role. 

“I’m pleased to announce Ishwar Naran as Best Western’s new chairman of the board, as his extensive industry experience and honorable traits will be essential to leading our brand forward in 2021,” says David Kong, president and CEO, BWHR. “Our industry is facing its greatest crisis to date and I believe Ishwar’s innovative and strategic thinking will deliver tremendous value as we navigate the year ahead. I look forward to working alongside Ishwar and his colleagues on the board of directors as we continue to grow the Best Western brand, deliver industry-leading customer care to our guests and drive superior revenue to our hoteliers.”

Naran has developed, acquired and managed more than 30 hotels throughout his career and currently owns three Best Western-branded properties. During his time as a Best Western owner, he has served on numerous advisory committees within the organization and was elected to the board of directors in 2016 to represent the interests of hotel owners in District IV.

“I’m truly honoured to be elected as the chairman of the board for Best Western Hotels & Resorts,” says Naran. “As a long-time member and leader of Best Western, I’m proud to be a part of this incredible family of hoteliers, whose foundational caring spirit and commitment to providing superior customer care has united our brand and served as a beacon of hope during these unprecedented times.”

During the election, John Kelly was named vice-chairman and Danny Lafayette was named secretary treasurer. Recently, Steve Wahrlich was also appointed to the board of directors as director for District II, representing the interests of owners in Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota and Canada’s western provinces.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.